East Dorset Seahorse Swim Open Water Race supports The Seahorse Trust

East Dorset Open Water Swimming Club held its third annual Seahorse Swim race at Knoll Beach in Studland. The event was an amazzing success with over 130 swimmers taking part from all over the country. It was held by kind permission of the National Trust and supported the work of The Seahorse Trust amongst others such as the National Trust and St. John’s Ambulance.

The race was over a standard triathlon distance of 3.8 kms and produced a highly competitive race.

Despite heavy overnight rain and high winds, the weather relented in time for the start. The water temperature was a cool 13.7 degrees centigrade causing a couple of competitors to retire with the cold. However, the swimmers were delighted with the friendly rivalry in this well organised event held in good conditions

Bob Holman, chairman of the club said “We have had a fantastic day and all our swimmers have been complimenting us on providing a great swim”. The club was greatly assisted for the safety cover by RLSS Poole Lifeguard, Branksome Surf Life Saving Club, Bournemouth Lifeguard Corps, RLSS Boscombe Lifeguards, Southbourne Surf Life Saving Club and Christchurch Life Saving Club.

This is the second year Bob and the club have kindly supported The Seahorse Trust and they raised a staggering £150 for our work. We are extremely grateful to them for there amazing efforts and admire the incredible feats of swimming that were undertaken and would like to than k one and all for there feat.

The results were

Men’s Open wetsuit: Guy Giles, Wantage White Horses 47 minutes 47 seconds

Ladies Open wetsuit: Naomi Vides, Poole Swimming Club 54 minutes 40 seconds

Men’s Open non-wetsuit: Steven Hurley, Exeter City Swimming Club 55 minutes 31 seconds

Ladies Open non-wetsuit: Joanne Ball, East Dorset Open Water Swimming Club 1 hour 4 minutes 26 seconds

Roy Harding Trophy for first male non-wetsuit over 40: Stuart Purcell, East Dorset Open Water Swimming Club 55 minutes 38 seconds

Roy Harding Trophy for first female non-wetsuit over 40: Kate Mason, Weyport Masters 1 hour 10 minutes 33 seconds


Leave a Reply